Emigration! Just Go!

On Tuesday, I’m getting on a plane and leaving Ireland for ten months. Needless to say, I’m nervous enough but I’ve accepted my fate as having to emigrate. Initially I felt quite conflicted about having to leave, worried about leaving my boyfriend, family and friends but also quite excited about my new job and life in the United Arab Emirates.

One of the questions I have been asked is whether this move was a happy choice or a reluctant move due to economic necessity, and to be honest, it’s a mixture of both. I’ve always wanted to travel and see the world but I didn’t want it to be a case of get a job, any job, to get me out of this country. Despite working hard in my undergrad and postgrad, and getting loads of relevant experience didn’t count for anything after graduating. It is incredibly demoralising to realise that the only job you can get after five years in university is a part-time retail job. Worse yet, it is completely dehumanising when you experience the joys of working with people who couldn’t care less about their jobs and dealing with a public who treat you like crap because you work in a shop. So when your only options are continue down this path and hope for the economy to improve, or to make a leap of faith and hope that another career in a different country might work out, the choice is obvious- just go!

3 thoughts on “Emigration! Just Go!

  1. go out and enjoy all the new and wonderful experiences and just remember that you have a huge bunch of people back home who want you to have the most amazing time that you can out there.

Leave a Reply

