Adventures, Disasters and Successes in the Kitchen: Lamb, Spinach and Chickpea Curry

In case you are wondering where the disaster in the title of this blog series comes from, it is from days like last Friday. I’m not a perfectionist by a long shot, and many people who know me in real life know that I’m so clumsy that a normal day of shopping or cooking result in a trip to the A&E unit. My cooking style leans more towards creating huge messes and cursing after I’ve either burned a saucepan black or my thumb. More often than not, you’ll hear the following words out of my mouth: “it’s not burned, it’s just caramelised…”

On Friday, I burned two saucepans, burnt my thumb on the hob and nearly set my food on fire. It was just one of those days that happen to me.

However I still managed to produce a flavoursome curry which was packed with tender lamb pieces, healthy chickpeas and wilted spinach; all in all, a healthy and delicious conclusion to a week filled with takeaways and cheese sandwiches.

 

 

Lamb, Spinach & Chickpea Curry

(serves 1 with leftovers)

preparation time: 15 minutes

cooking time: 90 minutes

sourced from here

 

Ingredients

Splash of olive oil

1 medium onion

2 cloves garlic

1 inch piece of ginger

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

½ teaspoon chilli powder

Black pepper

200g diced lamb (use whatever cut is available, I used leg)

1 tin chopped tomatoes

200g  tinned chickpeas

1 teaspoon garam masala

50g spinach (I used frozen and a splash of boiling water)

 

1) Slice in the onion into thin inch long slices and grate the garlic and ginger. Heat oil in a saucepan and add the onions, garlic and ginger. Cook them on a low heat for ten minutes until the onions are soft and golden.

2) Mix the spices into the onion mixture and allow to fry for a few seconds to allow the flavour to develop. Then add in the meat and brown it on all sides.

3) Add the tin of tomatoes to the saucepan and bring the mixture to the boil. Lower the heat to a gentle simmer, place a lid on the pan and leave to cook for 50-60 minutes, occasionally stirring. If the sauce is too liquid, remove the lid and reduce the mixture.

4) Once the sauce has thickened and the meat is tender, add in 200g of tinned chickpeas to the pot along with a teaspoon of garam masala for flavour.

5) Five minutes before serving, add the spinach (with a splash of boiling water if using frozen) to the sauce until the greens are wilted.

Serve with naan bread/ basmati rice/ pilau rice/ yoghurt. I served mine with Bombay Potatoes and will post the recipe later this week.

 

Despite burning myself and my kitchen stinking of burnt saucepans for the weekend, it was a fantastic success. Yay!

Leave a Reply

