What I Read: Inside The Peloton by Nicolas Roche

With all the news lately about doping in road cycling, I wanted to go back to some books which reaffirm my love for the sport. Nicolas Roche is an Irish cyclist who released a book, Inside the Peloton, about his cycling career. Most of his book is drawn from his Irish Independent columns which he wrote during the Tour de France, Giro D’Italia and Vuelta. I have already read most of his columns but I was curious to see whether much more detail was added in the book.

I found there was a bit more about Roche’s personal life and winter training, but I felt that more could have been added about the various races he rode in, especially as many of his original articles seem to be written in the heat of the moment. While the writing is at time weak, Roche manages to relate the passion which drives professional cyclists, and the highs and lows of that career.

Leave a Reply

