Girl Friday: My Style

I saw these questions over on The Lady Named C earlier this week and knew I had to answer them!

How would you describe your style?

I never know how to answer this question. Even back when I used to write a fashion blog, I could never come up with a concise title for my style. Sometimes I can be gamine, vintage and cute, other times I can be a retro femme fatale, sometimes I wear more modern fashionable looks, and occasionally I am a tomboy. The common thread running through my wardrobe is that it has to be comfortable, appropriate to the situation, flattering to my shape and appealing to my own personal aesthetics.

Who inspires your style?

I don’t really have any particular style icon but I do notice how certain characters in a movie or TV show dress and that obviously influences my style. Much more than that, what my friends wear and what people I see when I’m out and about wearing inspires me as well. It’s probably not cool to admit that friends do influence my clothing choices, but some of my friends have the most amazing personal style or take fashion risks I wouldn’t, and seeing that does encourage me to try something that I wouldn’t have tried otherwise.

What are your wardrobe staples?

My wardrobe staples are pretty simple, depending on the season. During the summer- flat shoes, knee-length dresses and cardigans, during winter- skinny jeans, riding boots, leggings, wool dresses and blazers.

What is the most expensive item in your wardrobe?

The most expensive thing is my wardrobe is either my green Reiss dress which I wore to my graduation and to several weddings, or my tan leather riding boots from DuoBoots I bought a year ago which cost me €220. Either way, both were really great buys which I haven’t regretted at all.

What’s your most wanted item?

I don’t really have a wish list at the moment, but there is nothing too urgently needed. A new camera bag from JoTotes or a new winter coat would be fabulous, but I don’t really need them at the moment. (Edit, since drafting this post, I bought a red winter coat in Penneys.)

Favourite Designer?

I’m going to be terribly boring here and be honest. I don’t know my Chanel from my Marc Jacobs, and I don’t really care. I know the fashion houses’ choices about what to put on the runway filters down to the high street, but I just can’t get excited about stuff I will never be able to afford and trends which I will probably never wear.

How much do you spend on clothes?

It varies, depending on what’s in style and what I need in my wardrobe. Some months, I won’t spend a cent on clothes but last month, I had to buy new jeans, tights, leggings, cardigans and boots to get through the winter months. Having lived in a hot country for nearly a year, I don’t think I’ll have to buy any summer clothes for a year or two. As there is little to no need for summery clothes in Ireland, I plan to concentrate my shopping on buying winter clothes and shoes for the next while.

Where do you shop?

I shop in New Look, H&M, Oasis, Penneys, Dunnes Stores, GAP, Warehouse and AWear. I rarely stray from these brands as their clothes fit me well without needing many alterations and I can usually find something I like in them.

Favourite Fragrance?

Chanel Coco Mademoiselle or Lancome Hypnose.

What’s your favourite way to do your hair?

I have short hair so I can’t really style it. I’m trying to grow it out though so I can try some of the amazing hairstyles I see on Pinterest. I always go through this internal conflict every year about my hair, but I’ve had short hair for nearly 4 years so it’s time for a change.

What’s your go-to outfit when you have no idea what to wear?

Red fifties style dress- colourful enough to grab attention, smart enough to cover most social situations and fun enough to make me happy, patterned tights, flats and red lipstick. It just works.

One fashion trend you wish would come back and stay?

I’m not too sure. Fashion lately has been about reinterpreting trends and bringing back fashion, so I’m sure trends will keep coming back. I really wish skinny jeans and boots will stick around for a long time as they’re the perfect solution to rainy Irish weather.

What’s the most prized possession in your wardrobe?

My black heels- they are the only pair of heels in my wardrobe which I can wear for more than 2 hours without getting blisters.

What advice would you give to someone who is fashion conscious?

Invest in clothes which fit you well and will last more then one season. If you want to buy into trends which aren’t going to last beyond that season, look in Penneys or H&M. If you’re wearing a white or cream top, wear a nude bra underneath it cos we can all see your white bra. More from personal experience here: wearing colourful clothing is really uplifting but there is a thin line between the girl who looks fab in red and the girl who looks like she escaped from clown college for the day. If you have to ask someone if a skirt is too short or a top is too revealing, then it probably is.

2 thoughts on “Girl Friday: My Style

Leave a Reply

