New Year Goals

I’m a little late to the party with this post, but after a tough Christmas and New Years, I couldn’t get any motivation to write anything until now. Like most people, I’m not a fan of New Years resolutions as a general rule but after a draining November and December, I think now is the perfect time to try to change some things and set some goals.

  1. Adjust my attitude and be more positive. I’m a realist but veer towards pessimism when I’m stressed and under pressure. This has to change for my own well-being, but more generally some self-belief and positivity will do some wonders for me.
  2. Read more. I’m challenging myself to read at least 52 books this year. I hope to include genres which I have never tried before, classics which I haven’t read yet and non-fiction topics which I know nothing about.
  3. Be healthier and lose some weight. I’m overweight from comfort eating during the last few months, and I need to get back to eating fresh food which will sustain my body. I also need to do more exercise and get fit again.
  4. Leading onto… I want to fundraise some money for the Irish Cancer Society in memory of my fiance’s father who passed away recently following a courageous fight against lung cancer.

Overall my goal is to have sustainable changes for the better in my life. I want to be healthier and happier, and for any changes to become a habit for life rather than a crash diet or temporary shift in outlook.

What are your New Years resolutions?

4 thoughts on “New Year Goals

  1. I’ve stopped doing resolutions too, but find myself planning ahead and setting aspirations for the coming year – mainly to enjoy life to the full.
    Happy New Year and I hope you will achieve your goals.

  2. I’m not crazy about the traditional idea of New Years resolutions but January does always feel like a fresh start. I’m still pondering what mine should be… I’m not saying diet and fitness cause so far that has been an ongoing project and not just something that I’m kicking off this month.

    Best of luck with each of your goals hon!

Leave a Reply

