Blogging Challenge and Accepting Imperfection

I meant to post on Thursday and Friday but two rough days left me unable to write anything for the blog. Either way, I’m back now and will make up for my absence with a couple of extra posts during the month.

I figure how it should work out for the challenge is 30 posts over 30 days and if I miss some of those days, I’ll make it up with some extra posts during the month.

A major part of this challenge for me is challenging my own innate perfectionism. I never thought of myself as a perfectionist. I’m messy in my own personal space, but in front of other people and particularly with blogging, I want to present as well as possible.

Every photo has to be amazing. Every word has to be the right one for that particular post. Every opinion has to be properly supported and backed up. Frankly, I’m sick of it. It’s exhausting and I’m tired of it.

My hope is that this challenge will help me overcome some of those fears. I can’t spend hours crafting the posts with the best grammar, spelling and writing if I am going to post everyday for the rest of the month, so I have to accept imperfections for the next while.

There is a time and place for crafting the perfect post, but so is allowing myself to express my feelings in an off-the-cuff manner.

2 thoughts on “Blogging Challenge and Accepting Imperfection

  1. I missed the challenge or I might have been tempted to join although I already do a 365 photo challenge on Pbase.com
    I think it’s a case of ‘just do it’. If I waited until I had ever word perfect, I’d never post anything.

Leave a Reply

