April Roundup

How was your April? Tell me some good stories, because my April sucked. I never use my blog as an outlet for personal problems but yet I think it’s important to share this.

At the beginning of the month, I was diagnosed with depression after some tough months. Thankfully my anti-depressants have started taking effect and I am starting to see a way up. I’m not there yet but I hope to get there soon.

To further compound my problems, routine blood tests came back with elevated blood glucose levels, and after further tests, I was given a diagnosis of impaired glucose tolerance, a step well on the way to Type 2 diabetes. I have an appointment with an endocrinologist to investigate this further in the end of May.

This means that my diet has to be changed completely, thankfully I already took one of my biggest steps towards improving my diet a few months ago by giving by drinking Coca Cola, but giving up the last remnants of sugar in my diet was a struggle.

I also have to work on losing a couple of pounds and improve my fitness, but as I’m on the jobhunt again, I will have much more time to devote to getting fit and healthy.

I don’t have any other plans for May other than improve my health and search for a new job, and hopefully this month will be far better than the previous.

4 thoughts on “April Roundup

  1. That does sound like a pretty sucky April alright. But at least you have been diagnosed and have removed the worry of not knowing why you are feeling crummy. And it sounds like you are making really good progress on turning things around… well done 🙂

  2. Take care of yourself. Acknowledgment, diagnosis and treatment are all key to recovering, to seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and feeling the weight lift. Remember you are not the only one travelling this journey and it does get better.
    My April was busy so I haven’t been around blogland too much but hopefully there will be more time soon.

Leave a Reply

