July & August Catchup

Um, oops! I actually meant to write a July post before I left for Cambodia but packing got in the way instead. So now you get this long rambling post of everything which has happened during the last 2 months. Can you believe that- 2 months has passed since the beginning of that epic heatwave?

July opened with a blast of heat on my friend’s wedding day. The next 3 weeks were filled with all the things I wish we could do every summer without fail; long evening strolls, sunbathing in the park, ice cream and sorbet, an excuse to finally wear all the summer dresses I’ve been storing in a suitcase since moving home from Dubai, and cool pints of Bulmers in a shady beer garden. Granted, I’ve chosen to forget about all the other things from those 3 weeks- sunburn, smelling of sunscreen all day, wasps and bees, prickly heat and dehydration.

July was perfectly capped off with a night under the Big Top in the Galway Arts Festival listening to Josh Ritter and Mick Flannery. Unfortunately I didn’t bring my camera with me but I have delightfully blurry camera phone pictures for you.

Of course, there was some upsetting news during July when I found out I have Latent Autoimmune Diabetes of Adults, or in layman’s terms, am slowly developing Type 1 diabetes. Thankfully I met up with my diabetes nurse and dietician the following week and while diabetes is not an easy condition to know you’re developing, they made it seem much more manageable.

August started off with a quick trip up to Dublin for a gossip session with a friend recently moved back from London, followed by a friend’s wedding the following day. After another swift trip to Cork to pack our backpacks, we got a bus back up to Dublin and started our journey to Siem Reap.

Obviously our trip was amazing, apart from developing an 8 day stomach bug (the less said about that, the better), and I’ll be posting more about that in the coming days.

The cap on the month was shifting the last few pounds on the weight loss journey. While I didn’t reach my goal weight by August 31st, I successfully defeating the plateau I was stuck on since mid-July. I also signed up to run the Limerick mini-marathon, and I have found running to be one of the most enjoyable forms of exercise I have ever started.

All in all, a pretty busy and hectic two months. How was your summer?

3 thoughts on “July & August Catchup

  1. Seeing Josh Ritter – now I’m jealous! Sounds like a good summer (apart from the diabetes) and congrats on your Blog Awards nomination.
    Summer passed by so quickly, I’m not sure where it went – must do a catch up post.

Leave a Reply

