What I Read: Wheel of Time Series

Wheel_of_time-300x274

“The Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills, and we are only the thread of the Pattern.”

One of the reading challenges I set myself earlier this year was to start and complete the Wheel of Time fantasy series. There are 14 books in the series, which were started by Robert Jordan and after his death, were then finished by Brandon Sanderson.

I started reading the series at the beginning of this year, and it took me 14 weeks to read the complete series- albeit, 14 weeks in which I regularly turned down nights out or activities just so I could finish another book by the end of the week.

However, onto the actual books… I don’t want to actually review them as that could easily be material for at least 1000 words but what a brilliant series. It is actually impossible to summarise the plot line up in a few paragraphs but basically it follows Rand Al’Thor, the Dragon Reborn, and his allies as they fight in an age-old battle against the evergrowing power of the Dark One.

The books switch between character viewpoints and really allows the reader to become very fond of some characters. The scope of imagination that went into writing this series is absolutely amazing, from millennia of history to multiple cultures and political systems as well as a complex magic system.

As this is such a long series, the quality of the writing and story does vary and I really struggled to get through Books 8-10 due to the storyline really dragging. I think this is a really common phenomenon with fantasy series where authors begin to ramble on and the quality drops, and you can really see this happening in the last two books in The Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) series.

Thankfully Book 11, the final book written by Robert Jordan, showed a major improvement in the quality of both writing and plot, and the final three books by Brandon Sanderson were nothing short of amazing.

Even though this is not strictly a review, I would highly recommend this fantasy series as one of the must-reads of the genre.

3 thoughts on “What I Read: Wheel of Time Series

  1. I’m really glad to read this. I started the series a few months back and took a long hiatus at book 6, finding it extremely difficult to wade through the plot and especially the characters. I’m planning to go back to the series through, and I’m happy to see an encouraging post about that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

